What About Guns Part Two of Two

(Continued from Part One)

Accidental shootings involving children, random shootings and mass killings make me second guess my right to own a gun. I would say that I consider it more a privilege than the right most Texans claim to have. With the privilege comes serious responsibility and I respect that responsibility. In my opinion, there is no reason for “Joe Citizen” to own or use any type of assault weapon. I have had the opportunity to shoot an AR-15 and yes it was fun but I questioned the owner’s right and the wisdom of such ownership. (Yes, I know that an AR-15 is not considered an assault rifle by gun enthusiasts but it’s pretty powerful to me).

I knew a policeman who laid his gun on a table and fell asleep. He woke up to his 2 year old son holding his gun to his head and saying, “Bang Daddy”. What he was thinking to have laid that gun on the table, I don’t know but I have a feeling that alcohol was involved. If a person whose job it is to always be armed and ready can make such a mistake, what of those who want a gun because it is cool?

When I see all this fighting over the “right to bear arms”, I am reminded that a man’s gun has been referred to as an extension of his manhood. I know that is a sexist remark yet living in Texas, you grow up knowing about men and their guns. I do understand that women are also fighting for their right to bear arms.

I don’t think anyone has a “right” to bear arms. I think everyone should have to qualify and be licensed to buy a gun. By qualify, I mean taking gun safety and use classes and show at least a modicum of ability to hit a target. I had to be taught true gun respect such as keeping it in good working condition, how to handle it when not shooting at a target, to properly load my gun, safely clear a jam, shoot at a moving target, shoot while in motion  and much more.

In order to prove my point, I will tell you that I scared my instructors more than once by not paying closer attention to where my gun was pointed while not in use. They got frustrated by my lack of progress and were puzzled as to whether I was just nervous or couldn’t understand the principles. As it turns out, I just had to practice at a gun range with no pressure and I had an “aha” moment where I figured out that I was not properly executing my grip.

We are members of Texas Law Shield, LLP. They are somewhat of a legal assurance  company for gun owners. We carry a card that has a statement to law enforcement officers stating your rights as a gun owner according to the U.S. Constitution and that any questioning must be suspended until their attorneys are present.

One thought on “What About Guns Part Two of Two

  1. I don’t like, or own, guns. But I appreciate that there are those who would treat gun ownership as a privilege, not a right, and would be responsible about that privilege. Thank you, Patricia, for yet again opening my eyes to another side of the issue.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

