What About Guns Part One of Two

I have to admit that I own a handgun and have a license to carry a concealed weapon. So many people living in Colorado have come from Texas that most people I meet are from or have lived there. Recently, I attended a barbecue for several neighborhood couples and we took a count and everyone from Texas had their Concealed Handgun License (CPL).

I do not carry my gun with me though there have been times that it would have been wise. It has only been used at a shooting range and Gun Safety and Use classes. It was purchased to use for protection though I still wonder if I could actually remember how to shoot it in a dangerous situation. Would panic or anxiety cause my mind to go blank? My husband carried his gun for protection due to the nature of his work. His workplace is often in the news for being robbed and he was personally at risk. We practice shooting and took classes to learn about safety and to work on our skills.

I would be lying to you if I said I didn’t enjoy target practice. Shooting was never something I aspired to but given the opportunity to own one and learn to shoot, I have no regrets. That being said, if everyone who had a gun in their hands was like me and/or my husband, I wouldn’t be writing this post.

It is daunting to know that you have in your home, in your possession or in your hand an object that is used to kill. The old adage, “Guns don’t kill people, people kill people!” Well, my adage is, “Guns don’t kill people, people kill people with guns!” We practice safe storage and use safety precaution to protect our grandchildren and others.

Continued Part Two

3 thoughts on “What About Guns Part One of Two

    1. Thank you. The world is a scary place right now.

      On a brighter note…Yodi’s bestie is coming to live with us. I am so excited as will be Yo Yo. We are going to meet half way between Texas and Colorado in El Paso.😻

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

