Silly but True

images.duckduckgo.com images.duckduckgo.comWhen I was dating my ex, I told him that there was a stock car racing track in a certain location in Houston. I looked up the address and we made plans to go and were both really excited. However, when we got there, it was a indoor slot car track. We both laughed about the mistake, ate barbecue and called it a day

laughter1262542393When I was about 7 or 8, we had a family get together and my dad was talking with some men. We had some wooden candlesticks and I got this idea to pretend to clock my dad on the head with the candlestick and click my tongue to make it sound like I actually done it. I saw this on television and it was funny then but when I did it, not so much. There was an epic failure of enormous proportions! Unfortunately, I actually did clock him on his head and he was so shocked as I’m sure the other men were. He yelled out in pain and asked what I thought I was doing. How do you explain? I don’t think I even tried. I cannot think about this without laughing uncontrollably.

images.duckduckgo.comWhen I was about 6, my mom was making iced tea so I thought I would help. I got up on the counter and started stirring the tea in the pitcher. Of course, the spoon was much shorter than the pitcher and my mother said “Get down from there, you are going to drop the spoon in the pitcher!”. Power of suggestion, I dropped the spoon in the pitcher and mom said, “I told you that you were going to drop the spoon!”. I responded, “Weren’t me mama, were my hand. I don’t know what made my hand do it.” (This was one of my dad’s favorite stories).

images.duckduckgo.comAfter a church dinner, I was in the church kitchen washing dishes as I was helping with clean up. Danny was chatting with some people and our kids were roaming around. The minister’s wife came up behind me and said “Patriciaaa” and let me know that my dress was tucked into my panties. Many people had been in and out of the kitchen, men included and no one told me. Here I was in the church building with my butt on show for anyone who cared to look and no one said anything. To add more misery to the situation, our son had seen and told his dad but Danny did not get around to telling me. It seems that the problem was rectified by the time he got around to it. We all had a good laugh over it later but it was truly one of my most embarrassing moments.

images.duckduckgo.comFirst, I suppose I should explain how my cat, Mouse, got his name. Mouse was a blue and white, straight-eared Scottish Fold and when he was a kitten, he looked like a mouse with his coloring, little pink nose and big ears. His actual name was Mouse-Mouse. I got him from a breeder and never changed his name. Anyway, Mouse was small even as a full grown cat but very sturdy with a round head. Somehow, he got his head stuck between two of the chair back spindles. He howled and howled. I was puzzled and a bit panicked by the situation because it was obvious his head was too big to pull out from between the spindles. I tried and tried but could not figure out how to get his head out. Finally, it occurred to me that he got his head in there so I should be able to get it out the same way, but how was that? Duh, I finally turned his head sideways stretching out his neck and eased it out through the largest opening. Problem solved.

images.duckduckgo.comFor Christmas one year, our young teenage daughter bought us tickets to Handel’s Messiah at Jones Music Hall in downtown Houston. We were very touched by her thoughtfulness but a little puzzled by her choice.” After we attended the concert, we told her that we enjoyed the music. She responded, “I thought you would because of Dad’s playing hand bells.” Danny and I were confused for a moment, then started laughing. Danny said, “It was Handel’s Messiah, not hand bell Messiah.” She said, “Oh” and started laughing at her mistake.

Laughter is the best medicine!

laugh2

2 thoughts on “Silly but True

Leave a Reply

